A Couple of Random Thoughts About the Tony Noms

Image

What I’m Happy About: 

Hedwig and the Angry Inch. No reason to be angry here! Both Neil Patrick Harris (Best Actor in a Musical) and Lena Hall (Best Featured Actress in a Musical) scored well-deserved nominations.  And although Hedwig is not technically a revival (because it has only been produced off-Broadway, not on), the Tony committee decided to nominate the show in the Best Revival of a Musical category. As for the two other shows nominated in the category, I saw Violet, which was off beat and pretty wonderful, but I haven’t seen Les Miz (because, really, how many times can you see it)? I’m betting on Hedwig, and hopefully, NPH to win. The show, and his performance in particular, is just over the top amazing―an unforgettable night at the theatre. Lena Hall is up against some very tough competition in her category (Linda Emond (Cabaret), Anika Larsen (Beautiful), Adriane Lenox (After Midnight), and Lauren Worsham (A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder), and I’m betting the Tony folks probably won’t want to give everything to Hedwig. But I am so happy that the committee recognized the lovely and talented Ms. Hall.

What I’m Not Happy About:

They dissed Zachary Quinto! The Glass Menagerie is a play with just 4 characters: The Wingfields―Amanda (Cherry Jones), Tom (Zachary Quinto), Laura (Celia Keenan-Bolger)―and Jim, the Gentleman Caller (Brian J. Smith). The recent revival was absolutely wonderful in every way (except for the bit where Laura entered and exited via the sofa, but I won’t go into that here). The cast was stellar, but I was especially touched by Zachary Quinto’s performance. I can still see him, standing downstage left, starkly lit, reciting the play’s opening monologue: “Yes, I have tricks in my pocket, I have things up my sleeve. But I am the opposite of a stage magician. He gives you illusion that has the appearance of truth. I give you truth in the pleasant disguise of illusion.” He was mesmerizing. So tell me why, Tony people, why did you nominate everyone in the cast except Mr. Quinto? I truly believe that Cherry Jones is our best living stage actress, but I’m too upset about the dissing of Zachary Quinto to get excited about Menagerie’s other nominations. Interestingly, this is the first time Menagerie, one of the great American plays, has been nominated (Best Play Revival).

More to come…

Leave a Reply

